Review – The Hunger Games – Catching Fire (Book 2) by Suzanne Collins

CAN’T GET ENOUGH!

Title – The Hunger Games – Catching Fire (Book 2)
Author – Suzanne Collins
Genre – Science Fiction
Pages – 472
Reviewer – Laura

Blurb:

Katniss Everdeen survived the Hunger Games, Now the Capital wants Revenge….

Review:

Catching Fire is the second book in the Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. The story continues in the world of Panem, and follows Katniss Everdeen’s journey after she and Peeta Mellark win the 74th annual Hunger Games as “star crossed lovers”.

Without their knowledge, this has caused all twelve districts to see their win as a symbol of hope, and start to rebel, causing an uprising against the much hated Capitol.

This year is a special Hunger Games that the Capitol calls a “Quarter Quell”, and Katniss and Peeta find themselves selected as Tributes once again, to be thrown into the arena to fight for their lives against other previous winners of the games!

With an uprising they apparently ‘caused’ and another Hunger Games to survive, Katniss and Peeta begin another life or death adventure to desperately try to keep each other, and their loved ones, alive!

Opinion:

I felt that this book started off extremely slow and took me ages to get into. It actually didn’t get exciting at all until chapter 12, when the announcement was made about the rules of the Quarter Quell for the 75th Hunger Games.

I admit that when I got to this part of the story, I felt it would be very similar to book one and didn’t think it could possibly be as good.  While I wouldn’t say that I was mistaken, as it was quite similar, I still loved it and couldn’t put it down! I loved the fact that it was a different take on the games with the previous Victors having to fight again. I guess I found it a lot easier to read when it was not young children getting murdered.

I can definitely see how the braveness and determination in Katniss– even after all the blame president Snow has put on her shoulders – brings hope and inspiration to all the districts!

Her character in this book did annoy me a little this time though especially with the love triangle!

I was disappointed how the love triangle eventuated as I was expecting it to be much more intense.  Katniss just seemed very confused, one minute she likes Gale, next minute she likes Peeta, then she loves Gale, then she starts to fall in love with Peeta … Argh – I just wanted to scream at her to make up her mind!!

When we get to games however – that’s when everything I loved about Book 1 came through, and was present in Catching Fire! The secrets of the Arena set up and theme were very clever, and once the action started to intensify, I really started to enjoy the book a lot more! 

All in all this explosive series is a great read, and again, I would recommend this book to anybody who has not read it yet!!

lips grey 3

Leave a Reply

