Review – The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen

 

WHAT’S YOUR SECRET?

Title: The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden
Author: Jessica Sorensen
Pages: 353
Genre: New Adult – Contemporary Romance
Reviewer: Nicole
 

BLURB:

Callie has grown up keeping her feelings locked away from the outside world, and as her painful past threatens to consume her life, most days it’s a struggle just to breathe.

For as long as Kayden can remember, suffering in silence has been the only way to survive, until one night when Callie and Kayden’s worlds collide.

After that moment, Kayden can’t stop thinking about Callie and when they end up at the same college, he does everything in his power to convince her that it isn’t coincidence – it’s fate.

REVIEW:

Wow! I have to say I was nervous to read this book after being so disappointed with my first introduction to Jessica Sorensen books with, The Secret of Ella and Micha, but I have to say that Sorensen has done a complete one eighty degree turn and wowed me with The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden. I couldn’t believe the same author wrote this book – her writing style, plot detail and depth kept me completely invested and intrigued throughout the whole story not to mention her ability to create such engaging characters, each with their own deep and dark secrets.

The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden, focuses on Callie and Kayden, both characters broken from tragic events that have happened in their lives and the secret of these events is consuming them into personal darkness.  When Callie saves Kayden one night, she has no understanding of the impact of her actions.  When Kayden realizes that Callie attends the same college, he is determined to get to know her. But Callie has a secret of her own, which makes it hard for Kayden to get as close as he would like.  As they spend more time together they very slowly open up, start to trust each other and discover that they are each other’s light within all the darkness.  The trouble is holding onto the light gets to be very hard once faced with one’s darkest secret.

This is a story where everyone has a secret and is struggling to keep it together. All the characters show this false confident exterior but on the inside they are all crumbling, broken and vulnerable. It proves that it is often those people who portray themselves to be too perfect or happy are generally hiding something, and the more perfect it seems, the more they are hiding.  A lesson that can be applied to a lot of situations in life, I guess?

I love the alternating point of view between Callie and Kayden, it allowed the reader to have a more emotional connection to both characters.  The reader had access to their internal struggles, the chemistry and attraction they share and the fear they have of not wanting to burden each other with their problems. Sorensen did a great job of slowly revealing Callie and Kayden’s blossoming relationship. I also really liked the secondary characters in this story, the best friends of the main characters Seth and Luke – who are also hiding secrets and I am sure there is more to their story which might come out in the sequel. In this story Seth and Luke seem to ground both main characters, they understand their best friends well and support them without judgment. I like the way Callie and Seth have a list they have to accomplish to help them break away from their darkness and the notes Sorensen makes on the accomplished task at the beginning of each chapter adds lightness to the story.

Now, as a mother I need to get this off my chest! I believe a mother’s role is to protect their child at all costs and provide for them the perfect safe haven (home). It is so sad that these characters’ tragic events happen in their safe haven causing them to fear their homes.  While the mothers of our main characters had only cameo roles in this story, they play a huge overall role to these characters tragic events. One of these mothers, though unaware the tragic event occurred, witnessed her child change overnight physically, emotionally and mentally, all clear signs for a cry for help – but refused to see the truth of what was in front of her. The other mother who was way worse, she may not have committed a crime buy she certainly didn’t do anything to stop it from happening.   She knew exactly what was going on with her family yet she chose to ignore reality and make excuses, she is equally responsible for was happened and should be locked away for life.  Both of these mothers in this story FAILED to protect their children which I found tragically sad and really affected me emotionally.  I was verbally abusing these mothers while reading this book.   I just wanted to reach into the book and give the love and protection to Callie and Kayden that they deserved and needed.

This story leads to a huge climax, leaving the story on a “holding your breath” very sad and emotional cliffhanger! So make sure you have the sequel, The Redemption of Callie and Kayden, so you can keep going with the story.

Overall this is a very emotional read, if you liked Hopeless by Colleen Hoover or Reason to Breathe by Rebecca Donovan, you will definitely like this book.

lips grey 4.5

2 thoughts on “Review – The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden by Jessica Sorensen

  1. I keep on putting this book off. I don’t know why but when I read your review, it feels like I can’t wait to try this book again, for real, this time. I think what became my problem was for reading this is I’m the kind of reader who doesn’t read synopsis that’s why when I find the first chapter boring, I’d ditch it for sure. I didn’t know that this book is an emotional read until I read your review. Glad I did. I’m a sucker for those kinds of books and I definitely liked Hopeless.

    Great review! Will add this to my TBR list.

    Take care. x

Leave a Reply

