Review – The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay


THE POWER OF HOPE!

Title: The Sea of Tranquility
Author: Katja Millay
Pages: 426
Genre: Young Adult /New Adult – Contemporary Romance
Reviewer: Nicole

BLURB:

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am able to lift my feet to walk.

Two and a half years after an unspeakable tragedy left her a shadow of the girl she once was, Nastya Kashinkov moves to a new town determined to keep her dark past hidden and hold everyone at distance, But her plans only last so long before she finds herself inexplicable drawn to the one person as isolated as herself: Josh Bennett.

Josh’s story is no secret. Ever person he loves has be taken from his life until, at seventeen years old, there is no one left. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space. Everyone except Nastya, who won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. But as the undeniable pull between them intensifies, he starts to wonder if he will ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding – or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a rich, intense, and brilliantly imagined story about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

REVIEW:

AMAZING!!!!!!!

This book blew me away! I couldn’t put it down causing me to read into the wee hours of the morning, much to my husband’s annoyance with the lamp light in his face while trying to sleep.  This then left me absolutely train wrecked with the biggest book hangover ever having to deal with my one and three year old daughters at the crack of dawn BUT it was so worth it! The Sea Of Tranquility captured me from the first chapter to the last power punching sentence. This book is full of so many contrasting emotions and you will connect with every one of them, you experience the dark emotions of hurt, pain, anger, hate, fear and frustration but you also experience the light and much needed emotions of love, friendship, loyalty, trust, hope (so much hope) and redemption.

It is unbelievable that this is Katja Millay debut novel with her impressive writing style and the way she captured and created this amazing story and such memorable characters. Millay has the ability to keep the story compelling by revealing details slowly throughout the book forcing the reader to devour page after page.  Most importantly, she has the ability to make the story feel real and her true to life explanation of trauma from an incident and its after effects was no fairytale version.

I won’t comment in detail on the plot and characters as I want you to experience the full impact and element of surprise as this story unravels, which reveals the true power of this book. What I will say and what you need to know, is that I was so emotionally connected with the story and “all” the characters, even the secondary characters played a very vital role in this story and they were executed brilliantly, which is seldom done. The connection between the two main characters Nastya and Josh, and the hope they found in each other had my heart soaring. This story made me appreciate life, view death in a different way and appreciate the miracle of second chances that life presents you.

I get so nervous writing a review on a book that impacts me so much and that I have become so passionate about . I want to give it the justice and exposure it deserves, and trying to express how good the book was without giving too much away is so difficult.  This book simply makes me want to shout on the top of my lungs to all book lovers out there TO READ THIS BOOK!

So, if I haven’t made myself very clear I will spell it put, TSOT is unforgettable and a MUST READ, for this is a book that will stay with you for quite some time, if not for eternity!

TSOT is my favorite book of the year! Is not only in my favorite book bag but up in my top three books of all time and Katja Millay has definitely made my favorite author’s list and I cannot wait for her to write another book, for I am a fan for life.

lips grey 5

10 thoughts on “Review – The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

  1. Pingback: BOOK GOSSIPS BEST REVIEWS FOR 2013! | Book Gossips

Leave a Reply

