Q&A Time with Author David Estes

Thank you to David Estes for taking the time to be our very first Q&A author!

1. What inspired you to write your first book? 

Great question! You’re about to find out one of the major reasons I owe my better half (my beautiful Aussie wife) so much. I’ve always been obsessed with reading, and I always had grand dreams of writing my own YA and children’s books. But I also had A LOT of excuses. I didn’t have enough time, or a big enough idea, or any connections in the publishing world, and on and on. And that’s what they were excuses…

 Well, when I had three weeks off when I was switching jobs, my wife, Adele, said I should start writing that book I always talked about. As usual, I started spouting my usual excuses about not having good enough ideas, and she called me on it, and said to just pick the best idea I had at the time, and give it a try.

 A month later, Angel Evolution was born! Not my best book ever, but every writer has to start somewhere, and from there I became as obsessed with writing as I was with reading. In three years I’ve written 16 books, 14 of which I’ve published. My total word count is more than 1.2 million words. And I had enough success to quit my job and start writing fulltime a little over a year ago. Since then I’ve landed an agent and had a huge outpouring of support from my growing reader base. All because Adele gave me a little push forward when I needed it the most!

2. What books have influenced your life the most?

Ooh, so many! But if I had to settle on just a few…The Lord of the Rings was huge for me. I read it more than a dozen times growing up, and it really started my obsession with reading, and made me want to create my own worlds. The Hunger Games is probably second, as it’s what turned me on to YA dystopian novels, which has become the crux of my platform, as my bestselling books are my 7-book combined Dwellers/Country Saga. From there I found Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, my all time favorite dystopian books. Simply incredible are the only two words I can think of to describe them. And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the writing of Dean Koontz, who I absolutely adore. A lot of the humor in my dark worlds is a direct result of his influence.

3. What book are you currently reading?

Well, I just finished Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass, #2) by Sarah Maas, which was BRILLIANT! As a young author, she’s proven she has a beautiful career ahead of her.

And now I’m back into reading Monsters (Ashes, #3) by Ilsa J. Bick, a very dark and chilling dystopian series. The talented Ms. Bick will be soon appearing in my Goodreads fan group to answer some questions.

4. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Well, I just mentioned Sarah Maas who is in her twenties and beyond talented. I think we’ll see a lot more of her. But there are so many other writers who have seemingly come out of nowhere, just oozing with talent. I think it’s a direct result of the ebook revolution that has opened up doors of opportunity for anyone willing to hone their craft and work hard.

5. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Moon Dwellers?

 Ha! That’s a great question and makes me laugh because I have done it all over again…many times. I’m a firm believer in improving one’s work, especially when you’re self-published and have a small reader base. Since I published The Moon Dwellers a little over a year ago, I’ve released 4 new versions, sometimes making incremental improvements, and the latest making significant improvements after working with my literary agent and her team. It’s not that it was a bad book before, but it could have been better. So now it is! I wouldn’t say I have anymore regrets with The Moon Dwellers, but it’s not perfect, and I don’t think any book is, because perfection is in the eye of the beholder.

 

BOOKS BY DAVID ESTES:

DWELLERS SERIES:

The Moon Dwellers (The Dwel...The Star Dwellers (The Dwel...The Sun Dwellers (The Dwell...The Earth Dwellers (The Dwe...

COUNTRY SAGA:

Fire CountryIce CountryWater & Storm Country

EVOLUTION TRILOGY:

Angel EvolutionDemon EvolutionArchangel Evolution

NIKKI POWERGLOVES:

Nikki Powergloves- A Hero i...Nikki Powergloves and the P...Nikki Powergloves and the P...Nikki Powergloves and the G...

Website:
 
Twitter username:
 
Genre:
 
 
2 thoughts on “Q&A Time with Author David Estes

Leave a Reply

