Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

PUSHING PAST ALL EXPECTATIONS!

Title: Pushing the Limits (Book 1 Harlequin Series)
Author: Katie McGarry
Pages: 367
Genre: New Adult – Contemporary Romance
Reviewer: Nicole
 

Blurb:

They say be a good girl, 
Get good grades, be popular
They know nothing about me.

I can’t remember the night that changed my life.                                                                                                 
The night I went from popular girl to loner freak.
And my family are determined to keep it that way.

They said therapy was supposed to help.

They didn’t expect Noah.

Noah is the dangerous boy my parents warned me about.                                                                                             
But he’s the only one who’ll listen.
The only one who’ll help me find the truth.

I know every kiss, every promise, every touch is forbidden.

BUT what if finding your destiny means breaking all the rules?

 Review:

Pushing the Limits, pushed way passed all my expectations! I honestly just thought I would be reading another good dose of, “popular girl with issues falls for the bad boy” but this book was so much more. The back bone of the story behind these two main characters had me so emotionally consumed, that I felt like I was travelling with them on their journey of self discovery, falling in love, family confrontations, learning to trust and facing their greatest fears.

The two main characters Echo and Noah, share the same therapist, Mrs. Collins, but for totally different reasons.  Echo is a broken girl, her father married her nanny, her brother Aires died recently in Afghanistan and her bi-polar mother is not allowed to come near her due to a restraining order, after trying to kill her. But Echo has no recollection of that night for she has repressed her memories, her only constant reminders are the scars that cover her arms and back. Noah is in foster care and was separated from his two brothers after his parents we killed in a house fire. The system has failed Noah and has been handed the raw end of the stick by labeling him “unstable”, making his fight even harder to get his brothers back.  Drawn together by their desire to escape their lot in life, Echo and Noah work to help each other to find the answers they need to move forward but they soon realize the only thing they need to move forward is each other.

Even though I felt an emotional connection to both characters, it was Noah’s character that had me completely invested. I found I could relate to and understand his internal struggle and turmoil. His realization at the end of the book and his emotional breakdown of guilt and grief, brought me to tears, I just wanted to hug him. Empathy was the overwhelming emotion I felt towards Echo’s character, especially when she experienced her spontaneous memory flashbacks or when she had her intense moments of hypnosis.

Pushing the Limits was very well written and the story was executed with such wonderful detail and character development that it kept me totally invested to the very last page. I cannot express what a pleasant surprise this book was for me and I would greatly recommend this book to my fellow readers.

lips grey 4.5

Check out my review Dare You To (Book #2) of this Series by Katie McGarry.

7 thoughts on “Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

  1. I have this on my to read list and I’m glad to know that you liked it. Might have to move it up the list. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Review – Dare You To by Katie McGarry | Book Gossips

Leave a Reply

