Review – Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

imagesCAENO10N

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!

Title: Clockwork Princess (Book Three – The Infernal Devices Series)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Pages: 568
Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal
Reviewer: Nicole

Blurb:
Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

Review:
I was both anxious and excited to read Clockwork Princess, the finale to the brilliant The Infernal Devices series. After hanging on to the heartfelt ending of Clockwork Prince and all the outstanding questions to be answered, not only relating to The Infernal Device series but also regarding the vital connections to The Mortal Instruments series, Cassandra Clare – the brilliant writer that she is – did not disappoint, Clockwork Princess was simply amazing!!! All of the outstanding questions were finally answered and the loose ends were tied up very neatly; I have never felt so satisfied with the conclusion of a series, from the plot to the characters who got their happy ending! I did not want to finish the last page and I am so, so, very sad this is the end of the series.

The intensity of the raw emotions I felt in this book was extreme. The exchanges between Will and Jem brought me to tears and made my heart ached for them, while the exchanges between Will and Tessa made my heart pump hard against my chest, and the exchanges between Tessa and Jem left me breathless. These three beautiful characters will stay with me for some time as each of them really touched my heart and soul.

I think some readers may not like the Epilogue, which leaves us all asking the question of how?? Some might feel it is unfair to make us wait for the answers we are so desperate to know, since they will not be answered until the release of the final The Mortal Instruments book, City of Heavenly Fire, on March 1st 2014. On the one hand I would totally agree as this has left my heart pumping right at the very end, but I also think it’s quite clever of Cassandra Clare because I was already desperate to read the conclusion to that series and I am even more desperate now!

I have to say I am much more in love with The Infernal Device series than with The Mortal Instrument series; the time period, location, setting, and plot really appeal to me. But most of all, I fell in love with the London Institute characters. They were all amazing with such strength and integrity, and because of the way each character evolved throughout the series I was able to develop a real emotional connection to all of them. This is so different to The Mortal Instrument series where I struggled at times to grasp a connection to Clary and some of the other characters.

I love that it all began at the London institute with the three families, the Herondales, the Lightwoods and the Fairchilds, and once again these same families have come together to battle against another evil in The Mortal Instruments series. It’s like these families are drawn to each other and that layer to these series is truly a beautiful thing.

Now that I have finished this book, I want to re-read the series and then flow into The Mortal Instruments series to see it all come together!

lips grey 5

Check out my review on Clockwork Angel, Book #1 and Clockwork Prince, Book #2 of The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

7 thoughts on “Review – Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

  1. I am currently reading Clockwork Princess right now and I get so attached with the story everytime I read it! I like Tessa for being so caring to all the people inside the institute. I like Jem for being so gentle and kind and everything. and I LOVE Will for being so bad, sarcastic but deep inside, caring and loving. I love how the story goes and I also like how Cassandra puts some humor sometimes on the charaters’ conversation especially if Will is being so sarcastic. I am in ln love with the book! And I can’t help it but also fall in love with the characters ❤

    • I TOTALLY agree with everything you said…I loved this series and I think it was all the characters that made it so special. I was so excited reading the Clockwork Princess but felt so sad as I read the last page, knowing this series ended…I wanted to read more about these characters but I guess all good things come to an end. I will say I have never read such a satisfying finale to a series in quite some time.

  2. Pingback: Review – Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Device series) by Cassandra Clare | Book Gossips

  3. Pingback: Review – Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices Book 2) – Cassandra Clare | Book Gossips

  4. Pingback: Our “GOSSIP WORTHY” books reviewed so far this year!! | Book Gossips

  5. I totally agree. I like Mortal Instruments series, but fell in love with the Infernal Devices books. I’ve been putting off reading this because I was terrified it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. Time to stop procrastinating!

Leave a Reply

