Review – The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

NOT THAT MAGICAL!

Title: THE INDIGO SPELL (BOOK 3 BLOODLINES SERIES)
Author: Richelle Mead
Pages: 401
Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal / Romance
Reviewer: Nicole

Blurb:
In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she struggles to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do.

Then she finally tracks down the elusive, enigmatic Marcus Finch – a former Alchemist who the organization denies exists, and who lives in shadows, on the run. With Marcus’s help, Sydney realizes that the group she’s been loyal to her whole life has been hiding the truth from her. Is it possible that her Golden Lily tattoo might have more power over her than she thinks?

As she struggles to come to terms with what that might mean, Sydney is compelled to use her growing magical powers to track down an evil magic user who is targeting powerful young witches. Using magic goes against everything she always thought believed, but she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her special blood – or else she might be next.

Forging her own way is harder than Sydney ever dreamed. Maybe by turning off her brain – and following her heart – she’ll be able to finally figure out where she belongs.

Review:
Let me start off by saying that Richelle Mead rocks and she is my absolute favorite author! I have read all of her books and she has never failed to please me and while I enjoyed this book, to be completely honest, it didn’t surpass the awesomeness of The Golden Lily.

Indigo Spell, the latest installment in the Bloodlines Series, follows only a short time after the cliffhanger of The Golden Lily. Adrian and Sydney are acting awkward towards each other, Jill has given Sydney the cold shoulder over her situation with Adrian, while Eddie and Angeline are happy in their own little bubble. Sydney becomes obsessed in finding Marcus Finch the former Alchemist, in hope of shining some light on what the Alchemists are hiding. Ms. Terwilliger asks Sydney for help fearing an evil witch in the area will come after Sydney’s untrained natural witch ability and Adrian makes it his mission to make Sydney see that she is in fact in love with him.

What I did enjoy about The Indigo Spell is the way the main characters are evolving; I love the way Sydney is becoming such a mentally, intellectually and emotionally strong character, which are the attributes I find the most appealing in a heroine. I like the way Sydney starts to challenge and question the beliefs that have been drummed into her head her whole life and asks herself what she believes in and what she wants. I look forward to witnessing Sydney’s future self-discovery and growth.

And then there is Adrian, for me Adrian makes this series. I read the pages waiting for Adrian to pop into the scene to make a witty remark or say something humble from the heart. Even though I felt sorry for him in Vampire Academy for not ending up with Rose, I never felt that Rose complemented Adrian the way she complemented Dimitri. Whereas Sydney, who his complete opposite, absolutely complements Adrian and together they are magic.

I also want to mention Jill, whose character made a huge impact in this book with the way she is maturing and showing great signs of strength. Even though she wasn’t involved in this book as much as the rest of the series so far, the moments she was in the book were full of punch and she was a huge influence reasoning with Sydney.

One character that did disappoint me was Marcus Finch; he was not what I was expecting. I thought he would be more of a threat to Adrian towards Sydney in some sort of love triangle but I felt his lack of personality and presence in this book was a huge let down.

I don’t know how I feel about this book’s overall plot and the direction this series might be heading, it is not what I was expecting. I am going to save my judgment for the release of Fiery Heart where I am interested to further explore how Sydney’s story will develop with her sister Zoe coming into the scene. Most importantly, I am really interested to see how Sydney and Adrian get their alone time! So bring on November, I truly hope this chemistry between Sydney and Adrian truly keeps escalating up, up and away – fingers crossed!!!

lips grey 3.5

4 thoughts on “Review – The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

  1. I enjoyed this a little more than you did, Nicole, but all the points you make I agree with – especially that Adrian makes the series 🙂
    Marcus Finch was pretty anti-climactic given all the speculation an PR about him before the release.

  2. Is this series worth starting? I picked up Bloodlines from the library today and am wavering on starting. The covers are incredibly lovely, but… not sure 🙂

    ps thanks for the visit and follow on my blog! xo leanna

    • Hi Leanna,
      Well it depends, for me Richelle Read’s Vampire Acadmey is my favourite series to date and this is a spin off series to that series. Have you read The VA Series? If not I would definitely recommend that, for I am still not sure how I feel about this series personally BUT saying that I will still be reading them.
      I hope that helps?
      Nicole xx

      • haha somewhat 🙂 I haven’t read VA since I’m typically not a vampire-y book person… but Bloodlines mentioned Alchemists and that intrigued me. As did the covers of Indigo Spell and Golden Lily. xo leanna

Leave a Reply

